Not quite our mid-season flashback blog post

Some of you may be old enough to remember flashback episodes, where a TV sitcom would take a week off, and just have maybe ten minutes of the cast recalling anecdotes that led to flashback scenes from previous episodes. They used to mark the half-way point through a season, back when seasons had duration and structural norms.

This is not one of those[1]. I actually have new material. But if you like that sort of episode, this entry refers back to previous entries a lot.

And Pipa is free of her cone.

Oliver has let the cats out of the box. Specifically, the two cats they have been cat-sitting indefinitely have finally been spade, and have been released from the bedroom, where they have been held captive for the better part of three months. They now roam the house yowling and hissing.

Oliver –  to whom these cats now effectively belong – has gone off to class.

My cats are not pleased.

Before you jump on your neighbor for their perceived selfishness, reflect that no good deed ever goes unpunished.

Thus far, it has not come to blows. We have been worse. Recall Fireball[2], or even more tragic, Vet Bill[3].

The wheel rim for a 2001 Dodge Dakota has six bolt holes, specifically 6x114mm, which makes it a magic, special unicorn of a rim. Happily, Phoenix Junkyards have an app for this. I am not joking. I found one on my second try and got it for $45.

What should have been a two-hour chore, revising one of the Sample Cast for Go Action Fun Time for the final rules and an “improved” format, turned into a three evening ordeal.

The elf who ate my weekend

Greycloak is an elf. And because we are now writing a published product instead of a out-of-hand hobby,  I realized I had to set some canon for GAFT Elves.

I posted a draft of that work on Fantastical History.

Greycloak , aside from being an old D&D character of mine, also appears in a variant form in the new Jack Book Taliesin’s Last Apprentice. It comes out in November. Thanks for asking.

On that subject:  An excellent if dry resource of fairy lore: https://ericwedwards.wordpress.com/2015/08/14/the-origin-and-lore-of-fairies-and-fairy-land/

Then I wondered how much my notion of making You Tube videos about creating the Sample Cast would entail. Just drafting a script, and talking screenshots as I went, easily tripled the time.

Friends, I think I spent 18 hours on this project.

I have a character sheet. And a blog post. And a draft script. At least another evening or two to actually shoot the video. But we must move on.

What have we done?
Oh no…

We are making a Barbie centaur. Because we can. This will eventually be on sale at UnObtanium Bazaar. It might be ready by the Toy Fair on October 30th that we will be at.

Because you were about to ask about our next event.

There are tutorials on this. I know for a fact they spent a lot of time on them. Here’s one we started with:

Over the last few months, Cheryl and I got our drink on, in tiny doses, at three different distilleries. You can read about that at Are We Lost Yet?

WORD COUNT:

Are We Lost Yet -1000 words.

GAFT Fae Primer – 2000 words

Greycloak Character sheet – 1000 words

Greycloak Video script – 3500 words

Fantastical History – 1000 words.

Blog posts and GAFT character treatments have 1k word minimums because of the requirement to produce related content (that means pictures in the case of blog posts, and actual math with the GAFT sheets.)

Next week I need to produce another chapter of the 64 sequel, and maybe update Curious Continuity. Plus this blog will count.


[1] It turns out these guys stole my lawnmower.

[2] Fireball was adopted by one of Oliver’s friends.

[3] Vet Bill was struck by a car. We found him dead on my curb.

Leave a comment