A rare night back in Phoenix

“I used to believe that Destiny was capricious, but the older I get, the more convinced I become that she is actually perverse” – Jack

Careful what you wish for…

I have been on the road fairly constantly since, well, the last post. I’ve learned a lot, but mostly I’ve learned that when you’re on the road for work, regardless of how many hours you actually bill, you’re gone to work 24 hours a day until you get back home. Being able to waste a few hours at the motel is not at all the same as being able to go home and attend to the rest of your life.

I enjoy travel. I enjoy my job. I even enjoy traveling for my job from time to time, but I am not set up to do that every damn week.

Anyway, among the many things that went unattended was this blog.

I have been working (on and off – but mostly on) the perimeter of the auditorium renovation at Red Rock High School in Sedona. I’m also writing a hiking guide about Sedona. Synergy right?

10-12 hour days wipe out hiking opportunities. Non-hiking, non drivers who share your motel room wipe out hiking opportunities – particularly when the motel is 15 miles away in Cottonwood. Fourteen working days (and counting) on this job – one short hike.

OK Enough sniveling. These are the most important lessons:

Every time you change the plan, you are adding about 50% of the time you have already put into the job to the overall time of the job. So if you are 40 man hours in and decide to say, change the baseline of all the measurements, you’ve added 20 man hours to the job.

In 99% of all installations, within a quarter inch is going to be close enough. Really. Even if you’re German.

If you are going to heckle the help, it is poor form to get all butt-hurt when they heckle back.

It wasn’t all work. My family spent a week in San Diego.

If you spend a week in San Diego as a tourist, you will end up at some point setting foot in Sea World. I didn’t want to go to Sea World. We had no plans to go to Sea World. There I stood in Sea World, the victim of some inexplicable geas. The key to happines at Sea World is to just accept that you cannot eat for less than $20 a plate. And once you’ve paid that extortion for cafeteria food, don’t feed it to the seagulls; be part of the solution, not part of the problem.

I have a lot more to say on both of these subjects, and the new Droid phone lying in front of me, and some notes from the writer’s group. All in later posts.

The hard part, I have learned, is just starting that first post after being gone for a while.

I go back to Sedona on Monday.

Now you know.

Leave a Reply

