My Easter in PV, and the weird, wild future

I have a little plastic Buddha that I carry around in my backpack for luck. I’m not actually Buddhist, but I like the little thing, and this Buddha also carries a bag. He’s Travel Buddha.

buddha-at-tcc

Kinda fuzzy in the foreground, but that’s him at Tim’s Toyota Center in Prescott Valley, where I basically spent Easter. Prescott Heights Mega-church (I’m not sure that’s the real name) hold their easter service there every year, bringing production up from Phoenix. They, however, provide the 20′ wooden cross to be suspended over the stage.

easter-buddhaThat’s our buddy on the balcony behind the set. So, a few things:

If you’re the guy who drives the van from Phoenix, you can’t stay all day unless the whole crew stays with you.

Without going into detail, when the computerized fire alarm in Tim’s Toyota Center is activated, even in test mode, it will automatically shut off show power, whether the show is going on or not. Related, do not flip switches marked Fire Department Only unless you are the fire department.

I don’t know how many of you will be in possession of a walki-talkie radio during a show, or some other reason. But if you have a radio, and a dramatic even happens, like, say, hypothetically, show power shuts itself off in the middle of an Easter Service staged in a hockey arena, please, for the love of whatever you hold sacred, resist the urge to key open the microphone and blurt out the first thing that comes to your head.

Let me revise and repeat: if you’re not directly involved with The Incident, stay off the radio!

I swear it felt like three minutes waiting for all the knobs to stop telling me the power had gone out so that I could tell them that the power was back on.

What we particularly don’t need is people who have no idea what they’re talking about (the followspots are not part of show power, for example, and the fact that they’re working does not mean the power is restored) chirping in with their opinions of what might be going on.

Now that I’m done venting, let’s take a look at the future:

Did you Know? (via Methodshop, via lots of other sites)

Juan Enriquez at TED about Homo Evolutis (and why bankers are dicks).

PS: Asking when they’re going to nail the Easter Bunny to the cross is not considered an “appropriate” question, and none of the “worship team” will find this as amusing as the rest of us.

Now You Know

One thought on “My Easter in PV, and the weird, wild future

Leave a Reply

