New Planets are so passe [11/14/08]

Good news/bad news on the writing front.

I saw my book on the shelves at Barnes and Noble (at Metrocenter).

And someday, I want to be this guy!

The nebulous deal to develop a science fiction role-playing game dissolved. I wrote a relatively broad primer on the scenario, mostly so I could keep the basic facts consistent, but also so I would have something to show this guy by December. I sent it last week, and recieved a very polite reply that he’s no longer in the publishing game. (Which is kinda why I sent him some stuff early. Silence always makes me nervous.)

Meanwhile, scientists have actual images of real planets around real stars. My scenario only dealt with stars within 12 ly from Sol, while the planets around Fomalhaut lie at 25ly. The methods they use to detect planets, even their fancy new ones,do not work well with our nearest neighbors. The only nearby star with known planets is Epsilani Eridani at 10.4 ly.

SF RPG’s are a niche market of a niche market. I may be sad, bt I have no excuse to be surprised.

I am told that the best way to consume psychedelic mushrooms s mixing them into an ice-cream shake. Of course, the guy telling the tale also told how he threw up afterwards, and then tried to walk across the swimming pool.

Do you care about the given name of Adam Ant or Sting? Here’s a list. Don’t bother telling him that Marilyn Manson was actually born Brian Warner – not Bruce Warner. 80% of the 70+ comments point that out, some with a bit of anger.

Finally, and probably against my better judgement, here’s how you can make glass in your backyard. [Thanks Mark – I think.]

Now you know.

Leave a comment