Adventures at Edgefest and other facts [9/29/08

First, let me just note that for the temp to be consistently above 100 at the end of September is not right, and quite wearisome.

I was the B-stage LD at the Edgefest in Queen Creek on Saturday. Not my rig, and not my lighting focus. Whoever set-up and focused the rig could not run the board for some reason, so they subbed me. I had to figure out the patch by bringing up channels and seeing what lit up. I never recieved a backstage pass or even a set list.

Under those conditions, this is what I learned:

You do not really need a backstage pass to get backstage at Edgefest. All you need is a determined expression, ad the name of one person in the production company (who I never actually met, and probably wasn’t even on site). Alternately, if you have a lightboard under your arm, the security guard will not look up from her text messaging to impede your progress.

Unsurprisingly, it was a constant stream of posers back and even onstage all night.

It also helps, in these situations, to be clearly not one of the 20-somethings that attend these things, and have a collared shirt and a flashlight hanging from your belt.

The Cottonmouth Kings are not the country rock band I assumed they were. (Stop laughing! I am not remotely hip.) They are a rap act that smokes weed. I know this because that is the only subject about which they compose songs.

Two things about the ETC Smartfade 2496 console I was running:

1) It has a chase sequence feature called “MAGIC” which appears to be some sort of randomizer, but without the ability to determine which parametere you can randomize (a feature common in lighting consoles since the late 80’s). I found it to be useless.

2) You can somehow put the thing into a diagnostic mode (we didn’t intend to do any such thing), which will WIPE ALL THE MEMORIES. We did this unexpectedly five minutes before the main act (Atmosphere) came on. There was drama. Happily, the LD only needed the six colors, and I had those back for him by the third song.  He had his own LED fixtures which he sed to get through the first two songs.

Plus, they never actually turned off the damn house lights (a generator/lighting tower) until halfway through the set. Thanks, guys.

Now some geograpghy. I went left on Ellseworth instead of right (from Schempf farms). This led me to Hunt Highway going towards, well, Florida. On my AZ Gazetteer, though, there was an Oldberg road which cut west then south through the Santan Mountains Regional Park, which hits the settlement of Oldberg, which abutts AZ87, which would take me back to western civilization.

The map is in error. Olberg Road ends in a T with Many Farms Road, and either direction you take on Many Farms will eventually circle back to Oldberg Road. After two full rounds of this (cause you can miss dirt roads in the dark), I ended up backtracking all the way to Hunt Highway.

I did, however, miss most of the crowd exiting the concert.

George washington was very fond of Basset Hounds. He used them to hunt foxes (and perhaps runaway slaves – too mean?)

Leave a Reply

